Lorin Anderson's revision of Bloom's hierarchy of cognitive learning (left column), and how it could be related to critical thinking (right column):

1) Remembering  Non-Critical
2) Understanding
3) Applying  Critical


4) Analyzing
5) Evaluating
6) Creating

Remember, the division between critical thinking, if viewed from the perspective of a cognitive hierarchy, is not rigid. There are some commentators who believe that '3) Applying' is not part of critical thinking. Simple repetitive applications within a particular domain, for example, may not involve critical thinking. And arguably, some forms of '2) Understanding' should be regarded as part of critical thinking, but usually, such 'understanding' could be quite easily classified under one of the higher cognitive levels. It can also be counter-argued that some types of creating, which is the highest level in Anderson's hierarchy, do not involve critical thinking. In this light, it can be argued that some work that is regarded as 'creative' does not involve critical thinking, and is no more than craftwork, but this is not the place to discuss this. Further details on the above and a general discussion on critical thinking is available on the main document for critical thinking for this module(06/07/11)